April 18: Louis Leroy (1923-1961) Martyr in Laos

Louis Leroy (1923-1961) Martyr in Laos

Leroy OMILouis Leroy was born October 8, 1923 in Ducey (Manche). He was the eldest son of a farming family of four. After primary school in Villiers-le-Pré (50), he worked ten years on the family farm. Upon his return from military service at the age of 22, he began moving toward the missionary life with the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate. After a period at Pontmain to catch up on his studies, he bravely pursued six years of philosophy and theology in Solignac.

On July 4, 1954 he was ordained a priest at the Abbey of Solignac. He wrote to the Superior General of the Oblates: “Before I knew the Oblates the missions in Asia attracted me, and I wanted to leave my work as a farmer for these missions…. The difficulties the Laos mission has had and perhaps will have again have only increased my desire for this country…. I would be very happy to receive my obedience for Laos if you feel it is good to send me there….” He shared his hope to die a martyr with some of his companions.

Leroy OMI a Ban Pha 1957-1960He lived for six years in Laos. At the end of 1957 Louis Leroy arrived at his final post in the Ban Pha Mountains. Tirelessly, he visited the villages assigned to him, walking for 2, 3 or 5 hours in all kinds of weather and on impossible slopes. He writes: “[The missionary] quickly realizes that only the grace of almighty God can convert a soul.” In one year, he will “cover at least 3,000 kilometers on foot with a backpack. It’s hard on certain days, especially when one’s health is not at its best, but I’m very happy to have to work in this area.”

On April 18, 1961 Fr. Leroy was praying in his poor church. A detachment of guerrilla soldiers came to get him. According to the villagers, he knew this was his final departure: he asked permission to put on his cassock, put his cross on and with his breviary under his arm said goodbye. Without a hat and barefooted he followed the soldiers. In the forest, a few shots and it was over…. His childhood dream of witnessing to Christ, even in martyrdom, was granted.

Leroy OMI a Xieng Khouang - 1957-1960 ed

[…] Having a little free time today, which does not happen often, I just want to give you some news about myself and my area.

You have probably heard from the radio and newspapers about the events taking place in Laos. Currently, as far as we can judge, it is rather quiet; once, about seven hundred soldiers passed through my village. They said nothing to me or to the people. We know nothing of the future, so we carry on as in the past, trusting in God.

As for me, my morale is excellent. I’m very happy with my hard but splendid missionary life. My past wishes about missionary life in the bush are fully realized. As for the apostolate, I have a lot of work to do. During the past year, I have distributed more than 4,000 communions, heard more than 2,000 confessions, 19 baptisms; this number will be much higher next year as currently I am instructing 70 catechumens. The majority of them could be baptized around Easter 1960.

Does this mean that everything is perfect? Certainly not. Recently, an apostate Christian let her 10 month old baby die without baptism. Another apostate has taken up the art of witchcraft. Another, baptized last year, has practically never set foot in church since he became a Christian. In one of my villages, where Christians are a minority among the heathen, sorcerers are active and are able to disturb some of the Christians, telling them when they are ill that only a return to the worship of the spirits can bring healing. Fortunately, this perfidious advice is not always heeded.

The sick and injured take up a lot of time and require long and tiring journeys. Among the patients I treat, one Christian had his face, hands and a knee burnt. I visited him three times; it takes three and half hours on foot in the mountains to get there and there are many injured and sick like this.

The many pagans around me, whom I meet every day or who come for treatment, are not decided to become Christians.

This is an overview of my area, which once again I highly recommend to your prayers. Pray also for me, so that God can accomplish through me all the good he wants to accomplish.

[…] I leave you now, by telling you that my prayers for all your intentions are more frequent — and how many they are — than my letters. Not a day goes by without me talking about you to the Lord and the Blessed Virgin, in whom I renew my religious dedication. (Louis Leroy, Letter to the Carmelite Sisters of Limoges, 1959)

Leave a comment